

Fact sheet - Comillas Pontifical University

University profile

Founded in 1890, the Universidad Pontificia Comillas (ICAI-ICADE) is administered by the Society of Jesus, the Jesuits, a religious order that manages some 200 universities around the world. The university combines a long history of experience in education, characterised by academic excellence and a humanistic tradition in teaching, with a constant desire for modernisation, stimulated by constant social change. Open to new social and cultural challenges, Comillas provides an educational offering whose strong points include academic rigor, individualised attention for all students, and a high degree of social awareness and commitment. Located in the political, financial and cultural heart of Madrid, it offers students a marvellous opportunity for personal, professional and social development. The total number of students in the school, faculties and institutes at the university is approximately 15,555, of which some 3,000 are foreign students.

University history

Comillas Pontifical University is a private Catholic university located in Madrid, Spain. Known in Spanish as Universidad Pontificia Comillas, the institution is run by the Society of Jesus. The university was originally founded in 1890 by Pope Leo XIII. Fourteen years later, Pope Pius X granted the institution the power to award academic degrees in canon law, theology, and philosophy. Originally located in Comillas, Cantabria, the university moved to the Spanish capital in 1969. After the move, two other Madrid institutions run by the Society of Jesus - the Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingeniería (ICAI) and the Instituto Católico de Administración y Dirección de Empresas (ICADE) - were integrated into the university. As a result, the university is sometimes referred to as Universidad Pontificia Comillas ICAI-ICADE.

Higher education system of Spain

The Spanish Education System is supported by the Ministry of Education (central education administration) and by the governments of the 17 autonomous regions (regional education authorities) in which the Spanish territory is organised. The autonomous cities of Ceuta and Melilla are supported by the national Ministry of Education.

Higher Education comprises:

university studies are taught at universities and allow obtaining Bachelor's, Master's or Doctorate degrees.





2



- higher artistic education is taught in higher artistic education centres and allows the obtaining of Bachelor's degrees in Higher Artistic Education, Master's and Doctorate degrees.
- sports education, intermediate and higher training cycles.
- advanced vocational training is taught in the same centres as intermediate vocational training. Student receives the title of Higher Technician in Vocational Training. Those graduates who wish to do so can continue their studies with higher-level vocational training specialisation courses, in those professional families where this option exists.

Faculties & Departments

Faculties:

- Faculty of Law
- Faculty of Economics and Business Administration
- Faculty of Theology
- Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
- Faculty of Canon Law
- CESAG (affiliated center)
- INEA (affiliated center)

Schools:

- ICAI School of Engineering
- 'San Juan de Dios' University School of Nursing and Physical Therapy
- International Doctoral School

University Institutes:

- Institute for Research in Technology (IIT)
- University Institute of Spirituality
- Institute of Education Sciences (ICE)
- University Institute of Studies on Migration
- Institute of Modern Languages University
- Institute of Family Studies

Chairs:

- Bankia Chair in Financial and Fiscal Studies
- Chair in Bioethics BP
- Chair in Energy and Sustainability
- Chair in Science, Technology and Religion
- Chair in Economic and Business Ethics Garrigues
- Chair in Modernization of Corporate Law Iberdrola





3



- Chair in Energy and Innovation
- Chair in Business Internationalization, Diversity and Professional Development Rafael Mariño
- Chair in New Energy Technologies Santander
- Chair in Law and Minors
- Chair in Family and Disability funded by Repsol Foundation-Down Madrid Latin American
- Chair José María Martín Patino
- Chair for a Culture of Encounter
- Chair in Forced Migrants and Refugees
- Connected Industry Chair
- Chair in Energy and Poverty

Student involvement at Comillas Pontifical University

Each year and at the beginning of the academic year, student representatives will be elected for the Academic Board ("Claustro") (variable number), for the Faculty/School Board (3 people) and for the Senate (2 people). The delegates and sub-delegates of each group will be responsible for voting for these representatives, although any student may stand for these elections, even if he/she is not a delegate or sub-delegate. Then, out of the three students with the most votes for the Faculty/School Board, the Delegate and Subdelegate of the Centre will be elected, and they will be responsible for directing the Student Delegation of that Centre. On the other hand, the student representatives in the Senate will meet to elect the Delegate and the Subdelegate of the University, who will be in charge of directing the University Student Delegation.

The Faculties and Schools are coordinated by bodies common to the whole University: the Academic Senate and the Governing Board.

GOVERNING BOARD

- Two students participate: the Delegate and the Subdelegate of the University.
- Operational body (16 people). Meets every month.
- Approves syllabuses, promotes professors, approves the academic calendar, creates new degrees, etc.

SENATE

- 14 students participate, 2 from each centre.
- This is a large body: all university bodies take part.
- They participate in the Rector's legislation process, give their opinion on specific issues, etc. It is basically a consultative body.
- Within each Faculty or School, the highest authority is the Dean or Director. As for governing bodies, the structure is similar and is made up of the Senate and the Faculty/School Board.





4



FACULTY/SCHOOL BOARD

- Approves the general directives of the Centre, draws up study plans, proposes appointments, etc.
- Its number is small, although it varies from one faculty/school to another.
- Three students participate: two of them are the delegate and the sub-delegate of the school.

SENATE

- Takes part in the process of appointing the Dean, proposes activities, etc.
- A variable number of students participate.
- It meets at least twice a year and is a larger body than the Faculty or School Board.

Research focus & number research groups

At the Universidad Pontificia Comillas, research is carefully selected and of high quality, aiming to contribute to the cultural, social, economic, and technological development of our surroundings. It is research oriented towards innovation and social impact, emphasising interdisciplinarity, and conducted with our own resources as well as through national and international public calls and collaboration with the business sector.

Our researchers carry out their work in institutes, chairs, and research groups, and research training is also promoted through the International Doctoral School.

Currently, Comillas has more than 30 research groups, in the areas of Philosophy, Theology, Psychology, Criminology, International Relations, Education, Interculturality, Engineering, Sustainability, Economy & Management, Law and Health.

More information

https://www.comillas.edu/en



