

# Fact sheet – University of West Bohemia

## **University profile**

The following 5 figures aim to introduce you to what makes up the University of West Bohemia, the only public university in the Pilsen region: 9 faculties, 64 departments, 4 research centres, 310 study programmes, 12 000 students, 2 300 employees. Our students become qualified in technology, humanities, economics, medicine and art and, therefore, are able to face up to stiff competition in the job market. We teach and conduct research in a modern campus, as well as in the historic centre of Pilsen. We provide education not only during the academic year, but also in summer when the international summer school for both Czech and foreign students takes place. Thanks to the success in the areas of promising materials and technologies, intelligent solutions for the power industry, transportation, medicine as well as the public sector, as well as in the areas of humanities, natural and social sciences, the University of West Bohemia has become an important partner for hundreds of industrial and educational institutions not only in the Czech Republic and the neighbouring German states of Bavaria and Saxony, but also in other parts of the world.

#### **University history**

The history of the University of West Bohemia dates back to September 28, 1991 when the College of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering and the Faculty of Education, both with a tradition of more than 40 years, united as one institution. In 1993, the Faculty of Law joined the already established Faculties of Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Applied Sciences and Education. The Faculty of Humanities was established when the University of West Bohemia celebrated its eighth birth-day, and in 2005 this faculty became known as the Faculty of Arts. The New Technologies — Research Centre was founded in July 2000. The Institute of Art and Design was born four years later, and in 2008, the Faculty of Health Care Studies and the Institute of Applied Language Studies were established. In 2013, the Institute of Art and Design became the youngest and 9th faculty of the University, and became known as the Ladislav Sutnar Faculty of Design and Art. The university campus, which is located in Pilsen and includes five faculties, was built in 1985. The campus underwent major changes between the years 2011–2015 as three new research centres were established: NTIS (New Technologies for the Information Society), RTI (Regional Technological Institute) and RICE (Research and Innovation Centre for Electrical Engineering).





2



#### Higher education system of Czech Republic

Higher education institutions form the highest level of Czech education. They offer accredited study programmes at three levels – Bachelor's, Master's, and doctoral, as well as lifelong learning. University-type higher education institutions may offer all types of degree programmes (Bachelor's, Master's and doctoral) and carry out associated scholarly, research, developmental, artistic or other creative activities. Non-university-type higher education institutions offer mainly Bachelor's degree programmes, but may also provide Master's degree programmes and carry out associated scholarly, research, developmental, artistic or other creative activities. There are public, state and private higher education institutions. Higher education is realised within the framework of accredited degree programmes in accordance with their curricula and given mode of studies. The mode of study may be on-site, distance or a combination of both. Admission to a Bachelor's or long-cycle Master's degree programme is conditional on the completion of a secondary education with a 'maturita' examination. Admission to a Master's degree programme is conditional on graduating from a Bachelor's degree programme, while admission to a doctoral degree programme is conditional on graduating from a Master's degree programme.

#### **Faculties & institutes**

- Faculty of Applied Sciences
- Ladislav Sutnar Faculty of Design and Art
- Faculty of Economics
- Faculty of Electrical Engineering
- Faculty of Arts
- Faculty of Education
- Faculty of Law
- Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
- Faculty of Health Care Studies
- Institute of Applied Language Studies
- New Technologies Research Centre

## Student involvement at University of West Bohemia

Students at the executive level are organised in the Student Chamber of the university Academic Senate. It has a total of 20 members. There are two students enrolled in a Bachelor's or Master's degree study programme for each faculty and two more students enrolled in doctoral degree programmes. Students are full-fledged members of the Academic Senate participating in its decisionmaking. In addition to the Student Chamber, there are various student associations, clubs, and other activities.







### **Research focus & number research groups**

Focus on experimental development and innovation:

- Materials research
- Quantum technology
- Sustainable power production
- Transportation systems
- Industrial technology
- Control systems
- Informatics and Cybernetics
- Bioengineering

Over 70 scientific research and development teams

#### **More information**

- List of study programmes: <u>https://www.zcu.cz/en/Admission/Study-fields/index.html</u>
- Course catalogue: <u>https://courseware.zcu.cz/portal/studium/courseware/</u>
- Research results:
  - o <u>https://www.zcu.cz/en/Research/research-topics.html</u>
  - o https://www.zcu.cz/en/University/Media/Achievements/RD.html
- Experts database (CS only): <u>https://www.zcu.cz/cs/University/Media/experts.html</u>



